

f Directors August 10, 2020

Public Design Commission Public Hearing

Re: 5G Mobile Telecommunications Infrastructure Installation

FRIENDS of the Upper East Side Historic Districts, founded in 1982, is an independent, not-for-profit membership organization dedicated to preserving and celebrating the architectural legacy, livability, and sense of place of the Upper East Side.

FRIENDS wholeheartedly supports the expanded deployment of 5G technology citywide, and we appreciate the effort the Department of Information Technology and Telecommunications (DoITT) has taken to encourage a unified solution to enclose this new equipment. However, a one size fits all solution to installation on a broad variety of lamppost types is not the answer here. FRIENDS is particularly concerned about the overwhelming visual impact of the small cell shrouds on Bishop's Crooks lampposts, especially those located within the historic districts of the Upper East Side. Hovering above the graceful arch of the Bishop's Crook, the antenna shroud appears like a giant battery protruding into the sky.

We encourage the Public Design Commission to work together with DoITT, DOT, and the Landmarks Preservation Commission to design a smaller profile 5G installation for Bishop's Crook lampposts. Better yet, avoid these special lampposts altogether and concentrate the installation of necessary equipment on existing traffic poles, and the many LinkNYC kiosks or other street furniture already present on our sidewalks.

Thank you.

Board of Directors

Franny Eberhart PRESIDENT

Rita C. Chu Lionel Goldfrank III David I. Karabell Patricia F. Sullivan VICE PRESIDENTS

Andrew P. Steffan TREASURER

Alice McG. Concagh SECRETARY

Peter deF. Millard ADVISORY SEAT

George Calderaro Sarah Chu Christina R. Davis Alexandra C. Howard Thomas Jayne E. William Judson Rev. John A. Kamas Christian Keesee David W. Levinson Marjorie F. MacLachlan Carol E.R. Miller Genie Rice Jeanne Sloane Daniel B. Strickler, Jr. Arete Warren Margot Wellington Ronda Wist

Board of Advisors

Kent L. Barwick Christopher Collins Andrew S. Dolkart Hermes Mallea Judith Price Robert C. Quinlan Gretchen Siebel Anthony C. Wood

Rachel Levy EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR